Steele unveils cathartic new cut ‘Looking For You’

For lovers of midnight-drenched atmospherics and languid, mid-tempo soundscapes, Steele will be releasing her debut full length, Paroxysms, on June 13th. On her last release, 2016’s Hiraeth, the Stockholm-born singer-songwriter imbued her music with the feel of a late night alight with broken neon signs on a rain-drenched street. Keyboards breathe in and out on each track in-between palpitations of sparse, spartan drum beats, while the singer projects feelings of loss and longing into the dark corners of each listener.

While, her most recent output, 2018’s ‘Know Her‘ and ‘Temporary Love‘ continue the trend; ‘Know Her‘ is an upbeat track that swings with a swagger that shows a point in evolution and progression for the artist, while ‘Temporary Love‘ regresses into familiar territory of half-awake synths and wispy instrumentation.

The theme of sentimentality established on these previous tracks continues as ‘Looking For You‘ tackles a panoply of emotions. Speaking of the track, Steele told Billboard:

Looking For You’ is an embodiment of that feeling of being happy, devious and a little bit moonstruck at the same time, much like when you’re determined for a mission – or just dancing senselessly at home alone.


If all this is anything to go by, then her debut full length, Paroxysms is sure to be a success with fans of dark, gothic dream pop and moody make-out music. So light those candles, turn on your salt lamp and ready your decanter, because Paroxysms will be sure to set the mood for you on June 13th.

Paroxysm tracklist
1. Machine
2. Animal
3. Know Her
4. Opium
5. Temporary Love
6. Waiting
7. Knots
8. Deep Water
9. 8AM
10. Follow
11. Looking for You
12. Fade

Words: Ethan Schrupp | @ethanschrupp





Instagram: @steelemusic


Medical marvel Adam Lanceley unveils plans for seventh album ‘Epitaph to Innocence’

If a songwriter is only as effective as the stories they tell, Adam Lanceley will have etched his songs into your mind in no time.

His latest album ‘Epitaph to Innocence‘ is his seventh to date, despite suffering life-changing injuries from a car crash many years ago. The singer-songwriter was only ten years old when he was involved in the accident. Sustaining a severe brain injury, a crushed pelvis and shattered legs, doctors advised him he was unlikely to walk or talk again. Against all odds, Adam not only proved them wrong but has taken his remarkable recovery to the extreme, running marathons and now carving out a career as a singer-songwriter.

Though Adam is very secretive about the meaning behind his lyrics, Epitaph to Innocenceretains his ever-present optimism. The songwriter tends to pen his tracks in the hope that the messages hidden within will inspire other people who are going through difficulties of all kinds. In common with his previous releases, the album is heavily influenced by the 1960’s Californian sound, with Beach Boys-esque melodies and a defiantly upbeat vibe.

Although Adam has conquered many of the physical consequences of the accident, he has said that mentally he sometimes feels like a little boy, struggling with mental issues such as very low confidence and depression. His musical career has given him an outlet to express himself, which once again reinforces the restorative powers of music on both the artist and the audience. Epitaph to Innocence is far from an ending, it’s yet another example of Adam’s ability to continually confound expectations and to push himself to new heights of creativity.




Quadri Continues His Line of Fire with New Track ‘White Denim’

If ‘Fire‘ announced Quadri’s arrival into the rap world, ‘White Denim‘ sees him accelerating past the competition. Opting for a Giggs-esque flow, the rapper’s prowling delivery and low electronics lend an ominous feeling to the track. While his debut track dealt in big, bold claims, ‘White Denim’ sees the South London MC relax into his flow, oozing in an unspoken confidence.

Listen to the track on Urban Radar’s Spotify playlist below.

Follow Quadri: